Peaches!

Walking through the farmer’s market on my lunch yesterday, there was no way I couldn’t buy these babies. They smelled ammmazing.

And I wanted to bake. Bake with peaches. What I really wanted was peach cobbler. Hot out of the oven. With some vanilla ice cream. Doesn’t that sound lovely?

Well I didn’t make the cobbler. Disappointed? Yeah, me too a little. But I decided that since we celebrated four work birthdays in the past four days with things like CINNABON & coffee cake, I could stand to bake something healthy. ish. Healthyish! So I made these muffins…

Peachy Banana Muffins


This recipe makes about 18 muffins

1 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 cup rolled oats
1/2 cup white flour
2 tablespoons baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon cinnamon
3 small-medium ripe bananas, mashed
1 cup peaches, peeled & chopped
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup vanilla yogurt
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Preheat your oven to 350°F and place liners in muffin tray.

Combine dry ingredients and set aside. Mix together mashed bananas, brown sugar, yogurt, eggs and vanilla until blended. Add dry ingredients until just combined. Stir in peaches.

Pour batter into prepared muffin trays. Bake for 15 minutes. Do the toothpick test. Muffins are done when inserted toothpick into the center of a muffin comes out clean. Let cool for a bit before enjoying. Otherwise they tend to stick to the muffin liner.

Easy! Not exactly peach cobbler a la mode, but still pretty good. These could also benefit from some crumb topping.

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “Peaches!”

  1. TRACYBURTON Says:

    Hi citytart-
    I enjoy visiting. One day I will be brave & try one of your recipes. Keep it up…YUM! – TRACYB

Leave a Reply

