Today I Felt Crazy

Today I felt crazy.  Maybe because it’s Wednesday.  Maybe because I AM crazy.  I dunno.  I felt tired but antsy and weird and unbalanced.  I felt crazy at work and crazy while I was talking to people and crazy on the train and when I got home I felt crazy still.  I started baking and cooking dinner and making my lunch for tomorrow and DOING DISHES…

what the?  Dishes?  I know, I totally lost myself.  Don’t worry, at some point the crazy stopped.  I stopped.  There’s a crumby bread pan and bbq’d casserole dish sitting in the kitchen sink to prove it.  I hung out with Roomie L and went to Misiu’s art show at the bowling alley.  The world was right again.

That zucchini, however… there was something unsettling and not right about the size of that thing.  It was gifted by a friend.  Andrea was out of town for a week, and when she returned Mammoth Zucchini had turned mammoth, scaring all the other garden vegetables.  She very kindly turned it over to me.  Since yesterday I’ve used two recipes with the thing, and I still have about half left.

The first go was with a basic zucchini bread, with a bit of cornmeal to switch up the flavor.  It was a tad like corn bread, and had more of a crumbly texture than most zucchini breads I’ve tried.  I liked it plain, but you could also serve with a bit of butter.  Zucchini, Take I…

Zucchini Bread with Cornmeal

Adapted from Mark Bittman’s How to Cook Everything (buy it already, seriously).

When using super mammoth zucchini, make sure you drain the shredded veggie to get rid of excess water.  I used a colander, pressing the zucchini shreds along the bottom with a spatula.  Recipe makes one 9” x 5” bread loaf.

2 cups all purpose flour
1/2 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 cup cornmeal
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 Tablespoon baking powder
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
1/4 teaspoon ground cloves

2 eggs
1 cup drained, shredded zucchini
3/4 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup (1/2 stick) melted butter, plus some for greasing loaf pan
1 1/4 cups milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Preheat your oven to 350° F and grease your loaf pan.

Mix the dry ingredients (first 8 on list) together in a medium bowl and set aside.

Whisk the two eggs with the zucchini, brown sugar, melted butter, milk and vanilla.  Fold in the flour mixture until just combined.

Pour batter into greased loaf pan and bake for 6o minutes.  A toothpick inserted in the center of the loaf should come out clean and crumb free.  Cool for ten minutes and transfer to a wire rack.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

