Boulevard Beer, or KC Love Part II

My darling of a roommate gave me a ride to work today. Thank goodness, as I didn’t want to be lugging the above on the el. I normally walk around with a lot of stuff as it is… cans of soup (lunch), books, gyms shoes, etc., etc.. I thought I would scale back when I switched to a smaller handbag, but that didn’t really happen. Now I just carry bagS, and my once adorable chic-ish purse is now a bulging, unzippable, nightmare blob. Hang a coffee thermos from my strap, throw a 12-pack in my arms and you got my Friday morning, teetering-into-work look.

But about that beer. Boulevard Brewing Company is based in Kansas City and seems to be most beloved for its unfiltered wheat beer. If that’s not your thing, they have a billion other brew varieties. Yes, a billion. If you are ever in the KC area, you should visit for a tour and tasting (info on their site here). Our group was partial to the Bully! Porter. As far I know Boulevard is not distributed in Chicago (sadness), but I have found it in other Midwest cities like Minneapolis. This sampler was purchased on my most recent KC trip for my sometimes beer-brewing, often beer-drinking, baby brother.

Um, my baby brother is 22. And moving away. To study bioengineering (what the heck?!) like a smartypants. Or maybe just to escape his crazy family which includes THREE nutty older sisters. Even I can admit, that’s a lot of nutty. Happy escaping, Miguel–Cheers!

P.S. Due to kitchen “issues” that involved bailing water with plastic beer steins across the hall and into our toilet, baking has been on hold for the past couple days. All is well now though, so cookies soon!

Tags: , , , ,

4 Responses to “Boulevard Beer, or KC Love Part II”

  1. Jude Says:

    It appears that my wonderful editor is also an excellent writer.

  2. Mikey Says:

    Dude, this beer was really good. Porters and stouts are my genre, and Boulevard did a good job on this one. Your “Darkness” will be in transit soon, along with myself. Hopefully I can get out of this city on Thursday. See you Friday?!?!?!

Leave a Reply

